Skip to content

Writer’s Craft #1 – Tell me your stories

January 3, 2011

Starting in 2011, I am launching a new feature on the Clarion Blog called The Writer’s Craft. The goal is to create a sort of fellowship where writers like you and I can feel at home sharing tips and bugbears in the pursuit of being the best authors we can. If that sounds good to you, let me know! I will judge this new idea by the comments it receives and the e-mails I get at lynda@okalrel.org to inspire future articles.

The plan for the new format is:

  1. To create a setting where writers who frequent the blog can get to know each other better by encouraging them to share examples of tips or challenges from their actual work, in a spirit of sharing and learning.
  2. To judge success by your participation.

A spirit of mutual respect and the shared love of writing SF will underpin the enterprise. No downers permitted, just healthy disagreement when meaningful. Whatever is featured will be about the craft of writing. Short snippets of text may appear to illustrate a question or idea, and URLs to more about the author concerned will be welcome – but the opportunity to learn from each other will be central. If some promotion occurs as a side effect, why not? But it has to be a side effect. If, on the other hand, anyone wishes to submit an anonymous example or suggestion, I will respect their wishes. When samples of writing or references to a contributing writer’s work are made, I will share the article with the writer to get sign off before submitting it for release on the blog.

Do you like this idea? Comment to encourage me! If you have a short example of something to share either as an exemplar you are proud of, a lesson learned, or a question for input from me and others, send it to me via e-mail (lynda@okalrel.org) as a suggestion for a future post. Please start your subject line with the word CLARION to help me out. What we are shooting for are items that inspire comments and participation … and just maybe help us to get to know each other better as writers as well as improving our craft.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Nick Anthony permalink
    January 3, 2011 11:14 am

    Sound like a good idea provided the disagreements done politely. As is all things in life, everyone will have a different way or working their craft. Some ideas and habits will be useful, some will not, but each writer will have to decide what works for them and does not work.

    Count me in…

    • January 3, 2011 2:46 pm

      Glad to have you, Nick. I expect there will be more disagreements about the subjective topics. For the technical ones, there might be some differences but they should be illuminating.

  2. January 3, 2011 3:01 pm

    I can’t say I’d be able to join in regularly, as my day job has a brutal schedule when it starts again next week – and I do want to get some writing done too. But I would be interested in what transpires. What I would most like to hear about is not so much issues of craft, but practical suggestions about the writing life – for example, how parents and those with demanding day jobs cope and manage to find time to write, which is always my dilemma. I would tune in when I can.

    By the way, I’m an old-timer from Clarion West 1973. Is there anyone around from that ancient era?

  3. January 3, 2011 3:58 pm

    ooh, getting excited. I’ve also heard from a couple of you via e-mail at lynda@okalrel.org and I’ve discussed the Writer’s Craft with two other people who have expressed interest.

  4. Lynda Williams permalink
    January 3, 2011 5:01 pm

    Hi John! I hear ya. I work a fulltime job and have kids, too. Although my youngest is 16 so there’s less work there on the whole. You might find more about the juggling routine elsewhere on Clarion blog such as at https://clarionfoundation.wordpress.com/tag/writinglife/ but we’d be welcome to hang out with us here, too. I find being obsessed with my characters keeps me producing. But I don’t know if I’d recommend it. Even I have sometimes questioned my sanity.🙂

  5. Kari T permalink
    January 3, 2011 6:10 pm

    yes, I’m interested too, but I”m not quite sure yet what this ‘looks like’. I’m a nascent writer, so I would be more interesting in learning from those who have more experience. Thanks!

  6. January 3, 2011 10:03 pm

    Sounds like a great forum. I’d love to participate.

  7. January 3, 2011 10:57 pm

    🙂 This sounds like a lot of fun and wonderfully productive. I just signed up to get the blog delivered to my email so I can keep up. I’m all for it!

  8. Krysia permalink
    January 3, 2011 11:57 pm

    Of course I want to participate Lynda. You dont think I would miss out on all the fun? :p

  9. January 4, 2011 2:53 am

    Allow me to encourage you! I think this is a marvelous idea and I would love to join if/when it happens.🙂 Exchanging ideas and thoughts with other writers is something I sorely miss and it would be great to have that opportunity again.

  10. January 4, 2011 7:51 am

    Wow! Thanks folks. I’m energized. Kari – I’ll be pumping out examples once a week, on Mondays, so you’ll get a sense of what it might look like, soon. I’m going to feature everything from a detail of writing mechanics to broad topics like an upcoming one inspired by “Survival Mama” (who e-mailed me at lynda@okalrel.org) on how what we read impacts our writing. If you are interested in appearing in an article but not sure what that might look like, strike up a conversation with me at lynda@okalrel.org. (Please put CLARION in the subject line.) Or just e-mail me to say hi and tell me something about your writing. Zoe – it’s “on” as of now. Krysia – thanks for dropping in! Trish – honored! Jaleta – hi! Just packaged up an ORU care package to send you for your next con(s), thanks again and nice to connect here. Kari – welcome.

Leave a Reply

