Skip to content

Writer’s Craft #106 End of an Era

January 7, 2013
Lynda Williams

Lynda Williams, Author of Okal Rel Saga

Your host, Lynda Williams, is the author of the Okal Rel Saga (Edge Science Fiction and Fantasy Publishing) and editor of the Okal Rel Legacies series (Absolute Xpress). She also works as Learning Technology Manager for Simon Fraser University and teaches an introductory web development course at BCIT. For a list of Okal Rel titles see: Lynda Williams on Amazon.com.


I’m going to finish my ten novel series, the Okal Rel Saga, in 2013. Book 8 is available. And I’ve just seen the cover proof of Book 9 from publisher Brian Hades of Edge Science Fiction and Fantasy Publishing. I’m half-way through the first draft of Book 10 with plans to complete it on a holiday writer’s retreat in Prince George, B.C. this February, with high hopes for enjoying the unspeakable delight of being able to read each new installment aloud to my daughters Angela and Tegan and any friends game to sit in.

On the promotion front, I’m ramping up activity on Reality Skimming, with the support of a cool team of seven and the magic of David K. Juniper’s genius for turning WordPress into something more than WordPress. We are engaging with dozens of others contributors. Including you!    And we’re connected for social media (e.g. twitter and facebook).

After a lifetime of obsessive preoccupation with the Okal Rel Universe – the ten-novel series will be out of my head and available, in its entirety, to preoccupy other people. For someone who has spent decades layering adult perspectives and modern preoccupations over a scaffolding of childhood mythologies (e.g. “prince raised as pauper” is just one of many knitted up into the ORU), this is a huge deal. Unlike many modern authors driven by fierce market pressures, for example, I have always known since book one what was going to happen in book 10, and have worked hard to make all ten books one single story while keeping each as complete and satisfying as possible, within itself.
So yay, me.
But what then? I’ve given myself all of 2013 to think about it and decide.
How about you? What’s your goal for 2013? And how do you handle the ending of an era in your own work?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2013 6:18 am

    Yay indeed! Quite an accomplishment. And congrats on your upcoming releases.

    To handle the ending of an era, first you must have such an era.😉 In some respects, publishing my debut novel ZERO TIME was like that because it culminated more than a decade of research and “intention.” It also blended many things together — mythology and history, metaphysics and science, time travel and philosophy.

    For me — An obsessive preoccupation, yes. Out of my head, not quite.🙂

    • Lynda Williams permalink
      January 29, 2013 9:00 am

      “mythology and history, metaphysics and science, time travel and philosophy.” Your obsession sounds like one I might enjoy.🙂 Check out “Ideas” on Reality Skimming. And if your own journey inspires thoughts you’d like to share there, email me at lynda@okalrel.org

      Ack rel.

  2. January 7, 2013 7:33 am

    I’ve reached my own milestone this month: Publication of my first novel, Elegy: The Black Diamond. I elected to go with self-publishing, placing Elegy on Amazon, B&N, Smashwords, CreateSpace, and OmniLit. The editor I hired, Karen Syed of Sassy Gal Enterprises, did a great job of helping me polish it to a shine, then produced a great cover for it.

    For me, this isn’t the end of an era but the beginning of one. By March, I hope to publish A Sprig of Adventure (about a little man named Sprig) to further introduce the world in which both stories are set. And then it’s on to the other works listed in my business plan, the last of which I expect to publish by March 2016!

    • January 7, 2013 8:19 am

      Sounds like you have a plan. Contemplating a dialogue on Reality Skimming with Kristene Perron this winter on the theme of World Building. Interested in joining us? If so, e-mail me at lynda@okalrel.org

  3. January 7, 2013 7:57 am

    Congratulations!

    As all wannabe writers, I’m more planning to start than ti finish.

    • January 7, 2013 8:25 am

      Hello Nikolay! Russian? Studying math at Oslo. And the facebook pic looks you’re wearing a pirate costume. Sounds like you might create some interesting stuff. Feel free to hang out here or http://facebook.com/relskim for some encouragement in getting started.

  4. January 7, 2013 12:12 pm

    Congratulations on such a major milestone!! Enjoy your year of contemplation!

Leave a Reply

